Excalibur – the legendary rock opera is back

After a thousand years of imprisonment, Merlin – the wizard – finally escapes from Morgana’s spell. Initially intrigued by the beauty of the new world that he returned to, he soon discovers the decay of knightly and sublime virtues, which once had been so bravely defended by King Arthur’s roundtable. An enraged Merlin casts his biggest spell over this world and brings the mighty dragon to life. A epic return of the legendary Celtic rock opera on to German stages, a new chapter in the saga around the sword Excalibur – this is “EXCALIBUR - The Dark Age Of The Dragon”.

Tickets now available for the new show

The fusion of past and present

In the past 15 years, the Celtic rock opera Excalibur has enchanted a wide range of fans, reaching from Folk music to Rock and Medieval music. Now Alan Simon, the famous Folk-Rock-bard and composer from French Britany, presents a new show around the wizard Merlin, King Arthur, the knights and their roundtable and of course the iconic sword. With world renowned rock musicians, an epic symphonic orchestra and a meticulously choreographed dancers, aerial acrobatics and sword-fighting performance, the new Excalibur makes sure to take you back into the marvelous world of Celtic mythology.

Encouraged by Merlin, who will be portrayed by the German actor Ralf Bauer and will lead his audience through the show, using his charmingly funny and unique grandeur which only the greatest magician of all times can perform, the spectators will become a fixed part of the myth. The partially interactive show around the legendary sword will bring tears to your eyes and put a smile in your face when – maybe for the last time - the virtues of knighthood have to be defended by the heroes of the show.

Discover the legend around the sword of swords

A musical legend

Composed by Alan Simon and orchestrated by Lee Holdridge, the music of the opera Excalibur combines energetic rock songs with heartbreaking ballads and authentic Celtic sounds. Twelve outstanding artists will try to follow the legend of the sword Excalibur, to prove to their wizard Merlin, aka Ralf Bauer, that mankind is indeed able to dream:

  • Roberto Tiranti (Labyrinth)
  • Martin Barre (Jethro Tull)
  • Moya Brennan (Clannad)
  • Eric Fish (Subway To Sally)
  • John Helliwell (Supertramp)
  • Maite Itoiz (Elfenthal)
  • John Kelly (Elfenthal / The Kelly Family)
  • Siobhan Owen (Tristan & Isolde)
  • Maggie Reilly (Mike Oldfield)
  • Jesse Siebenberg (Supertramp)
  • Alan Simon (Excalibur / Gaia)
  • Michael Sadler (SAGA)

The icons of folk- and rock music will be supported not only through interaction with the audience but also by the awarded Bohemian Symphony Orchestra of Prague. Together these prodigies will create sounds that – just like the story of Arthur and his knights – will remain eternally in the hearts of everybody.

The unique rock opera in Germany

Will Arthur and his knights of the roundtable, with the help of the assembled folk- and rock-stars, be able to fight the enemies of gallantry once more? This winter you can experience the showdown in the everlasting battle of Good versus Bad, live on Germany’s biggest stages.

Book your tickets for the Excalibur show

Voices from the Audience

„We have been at the show in Kaltenberg 2012 and we are really looking forward to the sequel.“ – Ariana M.

Voices from the Artists

 On stage Excalibur makes us become one! 

Alan Simon

(Producer)

 What a project. What a show. I am very happy, to be part of this! 

Eric Fish

(Subway To Sally)

NEW SHOW

PAST SHOWS

Excalibur The Celtic Rock Opera 2016 © Copyright Babaika Productions

Excalibur – die Rock-Oper-Legende ist zurück

Nach eintausend Jahren der Gefangenschaft entkommt Merlin der Magier dem Bann der Zauberin Morgana. Zuerst fasziniert von der schönen neuen Welt, in der er sich wiederfindet, erkennt er jedoch schnell den allerorten herrschenden Verfall der ritterlichen Tugenden, die dereinst noch von Artus’ Tafelrunde verteidigt wurden. In Wut spricht Merlin den größten seiner Zaubersprüche und erweckten den mächtigen Drachen. So bombastisch kehrt die legendäre keltische Rock-Oper auf die deutschen Bühnen zurück, um ein neues Kapitel der Sage um das Schwert Excalibur zu erzählen – „The Dark Age Of The Dragon“.

Jetzt Tickets sichern für die neue Show

Die Verschmelzung von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart

Mehr als 15 Jahre lang begeisterte die keltische Rock-Oper Excalibur Mittelalter-, Folk- und Rock-Fans gleichermaßen. Nun präsentiert der berühmte bretonische Folk-Rock-Barde und Komponist Alan Simon eine neue Show um den Zauberer Merlin, König Artus, die Ritter der Tafelrunde und natürlich das namensgebende Schwert. Mit legendären Rockmusikern, einem epischen Sinfonieorchester und akribisch choreographierten Tanz-, Akrobatik- und Schwertkampfdarbietungen wird die neue Excalibur-Rock-Oper Sie wieder in die sagenhafte Welt der keltischen Mythologie entführen.

Angespornt von Merlin, der in Person des deutschen Schauspielgenies Michael Mendl mit Witz, Charme und der einzigartigen Würde des mächtigsten Zauberers des Mittelalters durch die Performance führt, wird das Publikum zum Bestandteil des Mythos. Die teils interaktive Show um das legendäre Schwert wird Ihnen Tränen in die Augen und ein Lächeln auf die Lippen zaubern, wenn die Tugenden der Ritterlichkeit – vielleicht ein letztes Mal – durch die Helden des arturischen Sagenkreises gerettet werden müssen.

Erleben sie die einzigartige Legende um das Schwert der Schwerter

Eine musikalische Legende

Komponiert von Alan Simon und Lee Holdridge vereint die Musik der Oper Excalibur energetische Rocksongs und herzzerreißende Balladen mit authentisch keltischen Klängen. Zwölf außergewöhnliche Künstler schicken sich an, der Legende des Schwertes Excalibur nachzueifern und dem Zauberer Merlin alias Michael Mendl zu beweisen, dass die Menschheit noch zu träumen vermag:

  • Dun Aengus (Labyrinth)
  • Martin Barre (Jethro Tull)
  • Moya Brennan (Clannad)
  • Eric Fish (Subway To Sally)
  • John Helliwell (Supertramp)
  • Maite Itoiz (Elfenthal)
  • John Kelly (Elfenthal / The Kelly Family)
  • Siobhan Owen (Tristan & Isolde)
  • Maggie Reilly (Mike Oldfield)
  • Jesse Siebenberg (Supertramp)
  • Alan Simon (Excalibur / Gaia)
  • John Wetton (Asia / King Crimson)

Die Legenden der Folk- und Rockmusik werden nicht nur durch die aktive Teilnahme des Publikums unterstützt, sondern auch vom preisgekrönten Bohemian Symphony Orchestra Prague. Zusammen erschaffen diese Ausnahmetalente Klangwelten, die – wie schon die Legende um Artus und seine Ritter – auf ewig in Ihren Herzen beständig sein wird.

Die einzigartige Rock-Oper in Deutschland

Ob Artus und seine Ritter der Tafelrunde das Schwert Excalibur mit Hilfe der versammelten Folk- und Rock-Legenden einmal mehr gegen die Feinde der Ritterlichkeit führen können? Die möglicherweise letzte Konfrontation im ewigen Kampf des Guten gegen das Böse erleben Sie diesen Winter auf den größten Live-Bühnen Deutschlands.

Buchen Sie jetzt Ihr Ticket für die neue Excalibur-Show

Kundenmeinungen

„Wir waren bei der Show in Kaltenberg 2012 und freuen uns sehr auf die Fortsetzung.“ – Ariana M.

Künstlerstimmen

 Es ist die Sehnsucht nach dem Außergewöhnlchen. […] Wer so etwas an sich vorbeigehen lässt, der ist ein Narr. 

Michael Mendl

als Merlin

 Auf der Bühne werden wir durch Excalibur eins! 

Alan Simon

(Produzent)

 Was für ein Projekt. Was für eine Show. Ich freue mich, dabei zu sein! 

Eric Fish

(Subway To Sally)

JETZT NEU

PAST SHOWS

Excalibur The Celtic Rock Opera 2016 © Copyright Babaika Productions